?

Log in

No account? Create an account

Surviving · academia


Introduction

Recent Entries · Archive · Friends · Profile

* * *
Hello all. I just joined and thought I would introduce myself.

1. Gender: Female

2. Age: 27

3. Degrees obtained: Criminology BA and Pscyhology BAS are currently in process.

4. Current position: Full-time student and also tutor through the multicultural center at the University of Minnesota, Duluth.

5. I have been diagnosed with Schizophrenia and Tourette's Syndrome. At the best of times, my symptoms are not noticable to others, and affect my life little. At other times, my odd behavior and unconrollable vocalizations and movements have caused embarassment for me, and discomfort to others.

6. I have a major interest in sociology, psychology, and philosophy. I plan on continuing at UMD to gain a MA in criminology, before moving on to the U of M to get a PhD in sociology and philosophy. Eventually I plan to teach at university.

7. Music, mostly. I play a number of instruments, and there are others I plan to learn. I also enjoy writing and reading.

8. The fact that once people find out that there is something wrong with me, they underestimate my intelligence and my capacity to do everything they can do. Even when I have good ideas or vaild points to make, everything I say is immediatly discredited based solely on the source-me. Also, my symptoms occasionally disrupt my ability to attend class, or can be disruptive to other students if they start while I'm in class.

9. I have some documents that I plan on scanning into my computer that I would like to share here, and I would like to make sure that that's okay first. They deal specifically with something that has interested me for a while-both are articles about people whose disabilities have interfered with their college careers. One is about a friend of mine who also has Tourette's (though worse than mine, to the point where she often has to use a wheel chair because her uncontrollable movements cause her to fall when they get bad enough), and one is from a local paper, and tells the story of a girl with PTSD.
* * *
* * *
[User Picture]
On March 31st, 2009 07:19 pm (UTC), androgenie commented:
I just wanted to say hi as a former Duluthian! I got my BA in psychology at CSS :-)
* * *
[User Picture]
On April 1st, 2009 12:22 am (UTC), zandperl commented:
You might find online classes to be well-suited to your needs. They allow you to work at your own pace and to take as much time as you need to say what you want the way you want to say it. They also require a lot of self-motivation though, and excellent reading comprehension skills, so online classes are not for everyone. But it may be worth looking into them if your school has any.
* * *

Previous Entry · Leave a comment · Share · Next Entry